aboriginal

My Response To Criticism of “REMOTE COMMUNITIES”

My post on this topic is summed up in the part-title: “Remote Control.” An astute understanding of the style of critique ought reveal that this is a ‘shot’ at how the state & federal govts & law enforcement are, I posit hypothetically, colluding to close down some communities remotely; i.e. by the denial of funds. I nowhere endorsed this, it is simply my suspicion and plausible explanation of the motive behind their move. That said, I concede that I have taken Commissioner Karl Callaghan’s summation of the conditions [abuse], at face value, due to the position he holds, that he does keep his ear to the ground, and because of his widely-acknowledged reputation as an honorable and compassionate human being. In fact I call this apparent act of collusion, “dirty pool” in my post, and later posted that, “We whites should shoulder the blame.”  My stance on the matter is understated and not the point…… the point being made is to reveal what may be the hidden motives behind funding withdrawal in SOME communities. As I posited: because lawkeeping and social services don’t get to many communities, then because there are problems in a FEW of these, the authorities’ rationale appears to be to drive some back to centres where services do exist. One can refer to other posts of mine {e.g. facebook], where I make it clear that this is a nonsense with which I disagree, pointing out that Aboriginals cannot and ought not be driven off their land.

My main antagonist, whom I have regrettably upset, appears to be the writer of Jenspen, seemingly a very admirable and compassionate person, a writer and a worker dedicated to the wellbeing of Aboriginal people. On Jen’s accusatory question: “On what information are you basing your recommendations?” it ought be clear from the foregoing, and indeed from my original post, that I have certainly made NO recommendations of my own. The post is about what the authorities might be getting up to. My disgust at abuse is universal for all types of societies and IF abuse is happening in said communities, it should be addressed….but I offered no personal suggestion or recommendation, in fact my own personal opinion on such matters is at odds with what the govt. is proposing. Jen’s response is an ad hominem attack which, while I understand the reason, does not help discussion. The fervent response compares the widespread abuses within white society, and that disgusts me too, but that is a different subject. Mention of the ‘intervention’ is relevant to a general discussion about Aboriginal life, but has nothing to do with my post as it is only mentioned by me as another motive behind what the govt. is planning, [which is to avoid another intervention]. Why I should be ashamed of myself for opining on the wiles of authorities I don’t understand: did I not say that the Aborigine is the most noble of peoples, and that Aboriginal children are the most joyous and innocent [at least implied]? I do favour taking some sort of action against ANYBODY, of any race, that is IF abuse exists. While I have not actually offered a personally opined solution IF abuse is taking place in these communities, I will say this. It is ridiculous that indigenous people living on their own land cannot personally own housing. As long as this is the case, little improvement will be seen, but I must exempt here the hundreds of remote communities which are successful and thriving. Just before the Howard govt. were ejected, Mel Brough instituted 90yr. leases for dwellings in remote communities, which opened up the door to private ownership. However Jenny Macklin reverted these leases to 30yr. terms which made ownership impractical.

Jen also said:”Have you seen with your own eyes the picture you are portraying here? I strongly doubt it.” Again, the picture painted is the one painted by the police chief. My own eyes? My wife and I fostered two Aboriginal children when we were 23yrs of age. I went on to become Employment Officer in Aboriginal Affairs and later both of us worked among Aboriginals for 10 years. I have worked in Central Australia, Warburton, Kalgoorlie and the South West of W.A. I did outstation reports on the wellbeing of Aborigines in remote areas, pegged dozens of mining claims for the Wongai people, patrolled town streets to rescue infants from traffic while their parents fought, supervised prisoners on day-release, managed institutions caring for abandonned Aboriginal kids including 11 and 12 yr. old mothers with babies, and took kids to the Aboriginal Peoples’ Church forgoing the practice of my own faith. My own 5 children spent their childhood with Aboriginal children and we fostered as well. This is why I can attest to the nobility of the Aboriginal people and the absolute joy of such children. I have been enriched by my life among such people, more than I have given to them. However, when it comes to the abuse of women and children, I do not recognise race. I will speak out against abuse anywhere and comparisons between white or black society are meaningless and have no relevance , decent people must rise up against this in all spheres. But to demand that I cite cases of abuse in remote communities is a non-sequiter in relation to the topic of my post. I don’t want to go there anyway because I have been personally close to some tragic matters involving young Aboriginal boys and girls whom I loved, so I let discussions rest.

There will be no PC activity from me for the next 3 days. I’m not squibbing out but this is a sacred time in my world and solace is the go. Blessed Easter to all my readers and followers. HE IS RISEN.

Standard

Leave a Reply

